rOpenSci | About us

About us

rOpenSci fosters a culture that values open and reproducible research using shared data and reusable software

We do this by

Creating technical infrastructure in the form of carefully vetted, staff and community-contributed R software tools that lower barriers to working with scientific data sources on the web

Making the right data, tools and best practices more discoverable

Creating social infrastructure through a welcoming and diverse community

Promoting advocacy for a culture of data sharing and reusable software

Building capacity of software users and developers and fostering a sense of pride in their work

Our Team

rOpenSci is a non-profit initiative founded in 2011 by Karthik Ram, Scott Chamberlain, and Carl Boettiger. Our staff includes developers, researchers, and community builders. Our non-staff strategic advisors and editorial board members are volunteers.

Noam Ross
Executive Director
Software Review Lead • editor
Karthik Ram
co-founder • strategic advisor
Jeroen Ooms
Lead Infrastructure Engineer
staff • researcher • developer
Yanina Bellini Saibene
Community Manager
Mark Padgham
Software Research Scientist
staff • researcher • developer • editor
Maëlle Salmon
Research Software Engineer
staff • developer • editor
Steffi LaZerte
Community Assistant
staff • developer
Carl Boettiger
University of California, Berkeley
co-founder • strategic advisor
Jenny Bryan
strategic advisor
Rich FitzJohn
Imperial College London
strategic advisor
Anna Krystalli
Research Software Engineering consultant / Data Scientist
Mauro Lepore
2 Degrees Investing Initiative
Laura DeCicco
Julia Gustavsen
Emily Riederer
Capital One
Adam Sparks
Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
Jeff Hollister
US Environmental Protection Agency
Rebecca Killick
Lancaster University
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Toby Hocking
Northern Arizona University
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Emi Tanaka
Biological Data Science Institute, Australian National University
Jouni Helske
University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Beatriz Milz
Margaret Siple
NOAA AFSC Groundfish Assessment Program - RACE division

Our External Advisors

Our Alumni

Scott Chamberlain
Technical Lead
staff • cofounder • editor • developer
Stefanie Butland
Community Manager
Stacey Dorton
Administrative Manager
Lincoln Mullen
George Mason University
Brooke Anderson
Colorado State University
Melina Vidoni
RMIT University
Ben Bolker
McMaster University
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Ted Hart
former core team member
Stephanie Hicks
Johns Hopkins University
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Paula Moraga
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Leonardo Collado-Torres
Lieber Institute for Brain Development
stat peer-review advisor • editor
Max Kuhn
stat peer-review advisor
Martin Morgan
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
stat peer-review advisor
Dan Sholler

Our Research Fellows

Our 2017 & 2018 research fellows were awarded support for their ongoing work in open science to enable them to have a bigger voice in their communities.

Kelly Hondula
University of Maryland, SESYNC
Zachary Foster
Oregon State University
Sam Tyner
Iowa State University, CSAFE
Jon Zelner
University of Michigan
Nick Golding
Curtin University, Perth, Australia

Working together to push science forward

Happy rOpenSci users can be found at